Attorney Registration FAQ


What is the Office of Attorney Services?

The Office of Attorney Services maintains registration records of attorneys admitted to the practice of law in Ohio. These records include the attorney's name, business address and phone number, attorney registration number, registration status, gender, date of birth, and law school attended. This office also is responsible for the biennial registration of attorneys admitted to the practice of law in Ohio.

Return to top

Who must register with the Office of Attorney Services?

All attorneys admitted to the practice of law in Ohio and non-Ohio attorneys registered for corporate status under Gov. Bar. R. VI, Section 3 (see Corporate Status Registration).

Return to top

What are the general registration requirements for newly-admitted attorneys?

Within 30 days of their admission, newly-admitted attorneys must file a Certificate of Registration and, if registering for active status, pay the required registration fee. Failure to register and pay the registration fee timely will subject the attorney to a $50 late fee and possible suspension from the practice of law. Additional information for new attorneys can be found at www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/AttySvcs/AttyReg/FAQ_newAtty.asp.

Return to top

What are the general registration requirements for attorneys once they are admitted to the practice of law in Ohio?

Active Attorneys
On or before the first day of September in each odd-numbered year, attorneys registering for active status must file a Certificate of Registration and pay the required registration fee.

Inactive Attorneys
Inactive attorneys are not required to register biennially. However, they are required to keep their contact information (address and phone number) current.

Return to top

How do I register for the 2013/2015 attorney registration biennium?

The 2013/2015 attorney registration biennium begins Sept. 1, 2013, and ends Aug. 31, 2015. In July 2013, the Office of Attorney Services will mail registration materials to attorneys required to register under Rule VI. The 2013/2015 registration fee is $350. Registration fees are non-refundable.

Return to top

What if I miss the deadline for the 2013/2015 attorney registration biennium?

A $50 late fee will be assessed against all attorneys who submit their registrations after the Sept. 1, 2013, deadline.

Attorneys who do not register within 60 days of the filing deadline will be suspended from the practice of law. See, Gov. Bar R. VI.

Return to top

What if I am currently registered for inactive or retired status?

Inactive and retired attorneys may not engage in the practice of law. Specifically, an inactive or retired attorney shall not

Effective Sept. 1, 2007, attorneys will no longer be permitted to register for retired status. As of that date, attorneys who no longer practice in Ohio may register for inactive status (regardless of age). They can also file an application to retire or resign with discipline pending. The application consists of an affidavit and a waiver. In the affidavit, the attorney will affirm that he or she wishes to retire from the practice of law and realizes such retirement or resignation is permanent and irrevocable. The waiver permits Disciplinary Counsel to conduct an investigation as to whether there are any disciplinary matters pending against the attorney at the time the application is filed. The application will be forwarded to Disciplinary Counsel, which will file a confidential report (under seal) with the Office of Attorney Services. Disciplinary Counsel will recommend that the application be accepted, denied, or delayed.

If Disciplinary Counsel recommends that the application be accepted, Disciplinary Counsel will recommend that the application be designated as either retired or resigned with discipline pending.

If the recommendation is to accept the application as retired, then the attorney's record will be marked “retired.” This is a permanent status and the attorney will not be permitted to practice law in Ohio again.

If the recommendation is to accept as resigned with discipline pending or to deny or delay the application, the matter will be forwarded to the Court. The Court will then issue an order it deems appropriate. For more information on this process, visit http://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/AttySvcs/AttyReg/resignation.asp.

Return to top

How do I change my current registration status?

You may change your registration status for the current biennium by completing a new Certificate of Registration.

ATTENTION: Before you change your registration status, be sure to contact the Commission on Continuing Legal Education to determine what effect, if any, this may have on your continuing legal education obligations. Also, if you are changing your status from active to inactive, be sure to read Gov. Bar R. VI, Sec. 2 to ensure that you qualify for such status.

Return to top

May I change my registration status for a past biennium?

No; once a biennium has ended, you cannot change the status under which you had been registered for that biennium.

Return to top

To whom do I report a change of address and other registration information?

You should notify the Office of Attorney Services immediately of any change of address and other information. You may make these changes to your own record by going to the Online Attorney Services site or you may use the Change of Information and Replacement Card Form. Your residence address is not considered to be public unless you do not provide a valid office address.

Return to top

To whom do I report a name change?

Please use the Change of Information and Replacement Card Form to report a name change. Name changes must be accompanied by a copy of the appropriate name change document, such as marriage license, divorce decree, court order, etc.

Return to top

What are the general registration requirements for non-Ohio attorneys who are registered for corporate status?

An attorney who is admitted to the practice of law in another state, but not in Ohio, and who is employed full-time by a nongovernmental Ohio employer may register for corporate status by completing a Certificate of Registration and Corporate Questionnaire and paying the applicable registration fee. A corporate attorney may not practice before any court or agency in Ohio on behalf of his or her employer or any person except himself or herself, unless granted leave by the court or agency. A corporate attorney may perform legal services in Ohio solely for a nongovernmental Ohio employer as long as the attorney is a full-time employee of that employer.

Registration under corporate status is effective and may be renewed only as long as the attorney is employed full-time by a nongovernmental Ohio employer. Attorneys registered for corporate status must comply with the same registration and continuing legal education requirements as active attorneys. Attorneys admitted to the practice of law in Ohio are not eligible for corporate status. NOTE: Effective Nov. 1, 2008, attorneys registering for the first time for corporate status must comply with New Lawyers Training requirements. For additional information, visit www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/AttySvcs/CLE/nlt/default.asp.

For more information about corporate status and to request materials to register for corporate status, please go to Corporate Status Registration.

Return to top

How do I obtain a Certificate of Good Standing?

Certificates of Good Standing are issued by the Office of Attorney Services. You may request a Certificate of Good Standing by completing the Request for Certificate of Good Standing Form. View additional information regarding issuance of these certificates.

Return to top

How do I determine if someone is admitted to the practice of law in Ohio?

You may visit the online directory of attorneys or contact the Office of Attorney Services at attyreg@sc.ohio.gov or 614.387.9320.

Return to top

How do I determine if an attorney has been disciplined by the Supreme Court?

The Office of Attorney Services has a summary of disciplinary action that may have been taken against an attorney by the Supreme Court. For more in-depth attorney disciplinary information, you should contact the Supreme Court's Clerk's Office. The Clerk's Office can also tell you if a disciplinary matter has been or currently is pending against an attorney before the Supreme Court.

Return to top

How do I file a grievance against an attorney?

Grievances against attorneys may be filed with either the Office of Disciplinary Counsel, 250 Civic Center Drive, Suite 325, Columbus, Ohio 43215-5454, telephone 614.461.0256, or your local bar association's certified grievance committee.

Return to top

For what purposes is attorney registration money used?

Registration fees and penalties collected under Gov. Bar R. VI constitute the Attorney Services Fund. Moneys in the fund are used for the following purposes

On or before Nov. 1 of each year, the Administrative Director prepares and submits to the Supreme Court a report on the activity of the Attorney Services Fund. To review the current Annual Report, go to the Supreme Court of Ohio Publications page.

Return to top

Who do I contact if I have additional questions about registration?

You may contact us at:

Office of Attorney Services
Supreme Court of Ohio
65 South Front Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215

Telephone: 614.387.9320
Facsimile: 614.387.9323
E-mail: attyreg@sc.ohio.gov

Return to top

Adobe PDF PDF files may be viewed, printed, and searched using the free Acrobat® Reader
Acrobat Reader is a trademark of Adobe Systems Incorporated.